Live Your Dream Award

Live Your Dream Award

The Soroptimist Live Your Dream Awards (formerly the Women’s Opportunity Awards) assists women who provide the primary source of financial support for their families by giving them the resources they need to improve their education, skills and employment prospects.

Each year, more than $1.6 million in education grants are awarded to more than 1,200 women, many of whom have overcome enormous obstacles including poverty, domestic violence and/or drug and alcohol abuse.

Live Your Dream Awards recipients may use the cash award to offset any costs associated with their efforts to attain higher education, such as books, childcare, tuition and transportation.

In addition to providing the primary financial support for their families, eligible applicants must be enrolled in, or have been accepted to, a vocational/skills training program or an undergraduate degree program and must demonstrate financial need. Also, please note only residents of Soroptimist International of the Americas’ member countries and territories are eligible to apply for the educational grants.

Since the Live Your Dream Awards program began in 1972, about $30 million in education grants have been disbursed to assist tens of thousands of women achieve their dreams of a better life for themselves and their families. In 2007, the program received the Associations Advance America Summit Award—ASAE & The Center for Association Leadership’s highest level of recognition.

Interested in applying for the Live Your Dream Awards?


Be sure to check out as well! is a movement fiercely dedicated to ensuring every woman and girl has the opportunity to reach her full potential, be free from violence, and live her dreams.

Congratulations to our previous recipients!

2011-2012 – Lisa Shafer

2012-2013 – Kimberly Nesbitt

2013-2014 – Marisol Jimenez Torres

2014-2015 – Monica Mata

2015-2016 – Latosha Sanchez and Keyla Trejo

2016-2017 – Jordawn Amthauer and Tatiana Esposito.

2017-2018- Charlene Jones and Vanessa Ruiz

2018-2019 – Nicole Kruczynski

2019-2020 – Adirana Salas-Rodriguez and Toni Wesley

2020-2021 – Kelly Meyer, Olga Zepeda, and Heather Wilson

2021-2022 – JoAnne Atkins, Nicola Evans, Samantha Moorehead

2022-2023 – Kaitlin Green, Amanda Sposito Schmidt

2023-2024 – Araceli Perez, Cynthia Rojas, Astraea Marion