Meet Our Leadership

Shelly Martinez

Shelly Martinez


Soroptimist International of Tahoe Sierra (SITS for short) is the best service organization on the universe for me. It has all the virtues that I hold near and dear to my heart in one convenient place. I value service, collaboration, humanity, hard work, equity, family and fun – though not always in that order.

SITS strives to make the world a better place locally and globally as do I. SITS believes in hard work, helping to make positive and meaningful opportunities available to everyone, and sharing our blessings.

A unique part of our club and one of my favorite parts  is the collaborative, hands on piece. We work incredibly hard at fundraising so that we can provide financial assistance to nonprofits, give thousands of dollars in scholarship money to deserving individuals, and have resources to assist and empower underserved individuals and groups. We are delighted to offer financial assistance, and yet it is the connectedness to our community and each other that makes SITS truly special. Collectively, we are an all-in, hands-on group of thoughtful, service-oriented women who get things done.

Recently, I had the incredible experience of going to the Soroptimist International Convention in Dublin, Ireland. Being one of approximately 1600 delegates from around the world was truly humbling and inspiring. The projects among the different regions were distinct to the population and geographical location yet as Soroptimists, we all have a similar overarching  mission, which is to provide women and girls with access to the education and training they need to achieve economic empowerment. The mission of Soroptimist International of Tahoe Sierra is to, “Strengthen and enhance the lives of women and youth in our community and the world.”

Being a member of Soroptimist International of Tahoe Sierra infinitely impacts the lives of women and youth, including my own.

Lisa Cali

Lisa Cali

President Elect

After retiring from a 30-year career as sales manager for a wholesale company I finally had the time to volunteer for causes near and dear to my heart. I became a Soroptimist because their beliefs and goals align with mine. That is that when women support and empower each other, incredible things happen. The Soroptimist International of Tahoe Sierra is full of incredible and inspiring women who educate, encourage, and support each other in our common goal.=

Our Soroptimist members bring their own unique abilities, talents, ideas and most importantly their dedication to volunteering whatever time they can to help empower, educate and support the women and youth in South Lake Tahoe and the world. I am thankful to have the opportunity to work alongside these women who are committed to helping the women and youth of our community realize the courage to follow their dreams and abilities to achieve social and economic empowerment.

2023-2024 Board of Directors


Shelly Martinez

President Elect

Lisa Cali

Rec. Secretary

Nancy Muller

Corr. Secretary

Laurie Brazil

Treasurer 1 Year

Jeanne Prestella

Treasurer 2 Year

Andrea Solis

Director 1-Year

Margie Kovarik-Maxhimer

Director 2-Year

Theresa Papandrea

Delegate 1-Year

Amy Simons

Delegate 2-Year

Laurie Flesher


Lydia Rogers

Past President

Paula Peterson