Laurel Society

Amazing dedication and our Laurel Society members

An opportunity to honor our own.

The Laurel Society is a lifetime honorary recognition program of Soroptimist International of the Americas that honors dedication to the organization and its mission. Club members believe that those members who have served the club in various positions and by numerous means either in leadership or support roles should be recognized for their dedicated service to SI of Tahoe Sierra.

Each year Laurel Society Members of SI Tahoe Sierra meet to determine the newest inductee(s) to the society. Nominations are kept secret as well as the name of the chosen honoree. Traditionally the Laurel Society Member is inducted during the Founder’s Day Program each October.


The honoree is given a Laurel Society pin, a toast by club members and a bouquet of roses, one rose representing each member of the club. The new Laurel Society member’s pin is engraved with the club name and the year awarded. In those instances where more than one individual is selected for this honor, a separate yet identical presentation occurs in the spring.

  • Norma Poole (in memory)
  • Irene Morris (In memory)
  • Irene Radford (2006)
  • Lucille Holmlund (In memory)
  • Joanne Shope
  • Dilys Evans (in memory)
  • Kathy Southern
  • Teruyo (Terry) Kunibe
  • Marilyn Milholland
  • Doris Groelz (2011)
  • Wendy David (2012)
  • Pat Papp (2013)
  • Lydia Rogers (2014)
  • Trudy Mills (2015)
  • Cookie Rork (2015)
  • Diane Imbach (2016)
  • Lisa Huard (2017)
  • Nancy Muller (2023)